Inspection of Construction of the Western Transmission Pipeline

Inspection of construction of the Western Transmission Pipeline (Kabete – Uthiru – Karen)

17th September 2020, Nairobi County – The Cabinet Secretary Water, Sanitation and Irrigation Sicily Kariuki (Mrs.) inspected ongoing construction of the Western Transmission Pipeline (Kabete – Uthiru – Karen).

To support the distribution of water additional water supply in the city from the Northern Collector Tunnel Project, the Government through Athi Water Works Development Agency is implementing the Nairobi City Water Distribution Network Modifications Project aimed at increasing the capacity of the existing distribution network to improve water supply in the Eastern and Western parts of Nairobi which are currently under supplied including the poor urban areas promoting sustainable socio-economic and overall poverty reduction.

The modification project consists of construction of the Western transmission pipeline (Kabete – Uthiru – Karen) and the Eastern Transmission Pipeline (Kiambu – Embakasi). The Western transmission pipeline consists of laying 14km pipeline, construction of five million litre capacity reinforced concrete water storage tank, upgrading of the Kabete pumping Station from a production of 30 million litres to produce 72 million litres of water per day and construction of 500,000 litre tank and pumping station at Kenya high school.
The CS said that there is a similar investment happening that is going to evacuate water to Embakasi area; all pipelines are going to be integral components of the Northern Collector Tunnel investment.

The Eastern Transmission Pipeline consists of construction of 24km pipeline and 14 million litres reinforced concrete water storage tank at Embakasi. The project is now 85% done with an expected completion date of November 2020.

Upon completion, the modification project will connect 45,000 households to serve an estimated 336,000 people in peri-urban areas of Nairobi. The targeted areas include Umoja, Huruma, Kariobangi, Embakasi, Donholm, JKIA and improve flows to Njiru, Ruai, Mihango and Utawala areas within the Eastern region and Kawangware, Dagoretti, Riruta, Kaberia, Mutuini, Waithaka, Uthiru and Karen in the Western parts of the city.